Foundation day

GITAM Foundation day celebrations

Distinguished Prior Honorees of GITAM Foundation Award


Shri. Pranab Mukherjee

Decorated by Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award of the Republic of India in 2019, Shri Pranab Mukherjee was the 13th President of India from 2012 to 2017, crowning a political career of over five decades of exemplary service to the nation in the Government as well as the Parliament.


Dr. Michael W. Young

Dr. Michael Warren Young is a world renowned biologist and geneticist, who was awarded 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine along with Jeffrey C.Hall and Michael Rosbash for “discovering molecular mechanisms that regulate the circadian rhythm in humans and other organisms”.


Dr. Takaaki Kajita

Dr. Takaaki Kajita is a world renowned Japanese physicist, working on Cosmic Ray Physics, won the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics for his revolutionary neutrino experiments at the Kamiokande and Super-Kamiokande detectors in the Kamioka mines of Japan.


Prof. C. N. R. Rao

Prof. C.N.R. Rao is a world renowned scientist in Solid State Chemistry and Materials Science. He has published 1630 research papers and either authored or edited 50 books and received honorary doctorates from 60 universities. He was honoured with the highest civilian award “Bharat Ratna” in 2014.


Dr. A. Sivathanu Pillai

Dr. A. Sivathanu Pillai is a distinguished missile technologist of world repute and pride of India. Dr. Pillai’s outstanding leadership qualities made India proud to possess the most potent missile BRAHMOS which is now inducted in the Indian Armed Forces. He was awarded “Padma Shri” by the Govt. of India in 2002.


Dr. C. Rangarajan

Dr. C.Rangarajan is an accomplished economist, Former Governor of RBI, Governor of Andhra Pradesh and Chairman of the Economic Advisory Council to the Former Prime Minister of India. He was awarded “Padma Vibhushan” by the Govt. of India in 2002.


Dr. V. R. Panchamukhi

Dr. V.R.Panchamukhi is an accomplished scholar in Sanskrit and a renowned economist. He made path-breaking and seminal contributions to the field of Economics as well as promotion of Sanskrit and Indology.


Dr. M. S. Swaminathan

Dr. M. S.Swaminathan is known as the "Father of Green Revolution in India". He was awarded “Padma Bhushan” in the year 1972 and “Padma Vibhushan” in 1989 by the Govt. of India.


Justice B. Sudershan Reddy

Justice B.Sudershan Reddy, former Judge, Supreme Court of India, is well-known for several landmark judgments of national importance.


Dr. Sanjaya Baru

Dr. Sanjaya Baru, former Media Advisor to the Prime Minister of India and Editor, Business Standard, is one of India’s most respected and influential commentators on political and economic issues.


Dr. P. M. S. Prasad

Dr. P. M. S. Prasad is the whole-time Director of Reliance Industries Limited (RIL) and recognized world over as one of the finest professionals in the Energy Industry .


Sri. P. K. Bishnoi

Sri P. K. Bishnoi is a Financial Wizard and former CMD, RINL, VSP. He was chief architect of turnaround of Visakhapatnam Steel Plant. He was awarded ‘Udyog Ratan’ by the Govt. of India.


Sri. Dr. Karan Singh

Dr. Karan Singh, Member of Parliament (RS) and President, Indian Council for Cultural Relations is a renowned philanthropist and educationist. Held several positions including Union Cabinet Minister. He was awarded “Padma Vibhushan” by the Govt. of India in 2005.